Boys Basketball
Girls Basketball
Boys Cross Country
Girls Cross Country
Boys Golf
Girls Golf
Boys Lacrosse
Girls Lacrosse
Boys Soccer
Girls Soccer
Boys Tennis
Girls Tennis
Boys Track
Girls Track
Boys Volleyball
Girls Volleyball

Scholar Athletes
Hall of Fame

ESCC Hall of Fame

  The East Suburban Catholic Conference honored its 10th Hall of Fame Class of 13 on Thursday, April 16 at Crystal Sky Banquet Hall. The group includes some of the finest athletes, coaches and administrators in the state of Illinois since the ESCC began in 1974.

                                          2015 Program     2014    2012   2011    2010    2009  
     2007 Program/Cover (PDF)      2006 Program (PDF)     
Original Class


Class of 2015
Philip Goforth, Benet Academy
Justin Pierro, Benet Academy
Jennifer Eckhart, Carmel Catholic
Michael Fitzgibbons, Carmel Catholic
Tim Kelly, Marian Catholic
Casey Taylor, Marian Catholic
Maurice Mitchell, Marist
Dennis Zelasko, Notre Dame
Rudy Presslak, Saint Patrick
Tony Freeman, Sr., Saint Joseph
Tony Freeman, Jr., Saint Joseph
Pat Mahoney, Saint Viator
Diana Morrow, ESCC Assignment Chair

2014 Gallery of Induction

The Class of 2015...
2015 ESCC Hall of Fame

ESCC Hall of Fame to induct 13 on April 16

Marian Catholic graduate Tim Kelly of the NFL’s Houston Texans and highly successful former Notre Dame men’s basketball coach Dennis Zelasko will highlight a Hall of Fame Class of 13 when the East Suburban Catholic Conference inducts its 10th class on Thursday, April 16 at Crystal Sky Banquet Hall in McCook, Ill.

The group will also include multi-time IHSA state champions in Marian Catholic’s Casey Taylor ’05 (three triple jump titles) and Marist’s Maurice Mitchell (two hurdle crowns), as well as NCAA Basketball champion at Indiana Tony Freeman (St. Joseph ’86). Three inductees have at least 30 years in coaching, including Carmel Catholic’s Michael Fitzgibbons (football, wrestling), Saint Patrick’s Rudy Presslak (baseball) and Saint Viator’s Pat Mahoney (baseball, football).

Marian’s Kelly ’01, whose younger brother Dennis plays for the Philadelphia Eagles, handles quality control for the Texans and has also held college coaching posts at Penn State, Ball State and Minnesota State after his playing career at Eastern Illinois.

Zelasko guided the Dons on the hardcourt from 1988 to 2006, winning six regional titles and making an IHSA Elite Eight appearance en route to more than 200 victories. Freeman will be inducted with his son Tony Freeman, Jr., who was a four-year starter and earned two ESCC MVP honors for the Chargers before playing at the University of Iowa.

The 2015 class will be rounded out by two former Benet Academy standouts in Philip Goforth (football ESCC MVP, basketball) and Justin Pierro (baseball), Carmel Catholic women’s basketball standout Jennifer Eckhart and longtime ESCC soccer officials assignment chair Diana Morrow.

Tickets reservations ($50) for the 7 p.m. dinner (6 p.m. reception) on April 16 may be made through any of the ESCC school athletic departments and more information and history are also available on the ESCC web site at

The 1975 Joliet Catholic football state champions will be recognized at the April 16 event as well.The 10th ESCC Hall of Fame class brings the number of current inductees to 108, representing 10 of the current 13 member schools and former members Holy Cross and Saint Joseph.

More information about the ESCC Hall of Fame or induction dinner may be obtained by contacting Chair Mike Hennessey, Notre Dame High School Athletic Director, at 847-779-8652.
Previous Hall of Fame Classes

Class of 2014 (release)
Dan Nagis, Benet Academy
Peter Paul, Benet Academy
Jack Simmons, Carmel Catholic
Mark Venegone, Carmel Catholic
Adam Savick, Marian Catholic
Tony Evensen, Marist
Gary Kostrubala, Marist
Jack Halpin, Saint Viator
John Dacey, ESCC Assignment Chair

Class of 2013
Gary Goforth, Benet Academy
Mark Yanule, Notre Dame
Dan Santucci, Saint Patrick
Jon Schaus, ESCC Assignment Chair

Class of 2012 (release)
Jerry O'Connor, Benet Academy
Jordan Wilson, Benet Academy
Jon Mikrut, Carmel Catholic
Mike Gavin, Marian Catholic
Carl Cozen, Marist
Don Kuehner, Marist
Bill Besenhofer, Notre Dame
Zach Bukal, Notre Dame
Niall Collins, Saint Patrick
Tim McGarigle, Saint Patrick
Tim Phillips, Saint Viator
Ken Maziarka, ESCC Assignment Chair

Class of 2011
Henry Wind, Benet Academy
Rod Whittier, Carmel Catholic
J.R. Zwierzynski, Joliet Catholic
Kerri Evans, Marian Catholic
Rodney Harrison, Marian Catholic
Paul Andreotti, Marist
Br. Richard Grenier, Marist
Jeff Dyra, Saint Patrick
Joe Majkowski, Saint Viator

Class of 2010
Kate Enoch, Benet
Dan Sharp, Joliet Catholic
Kevin Kelly, Marian Catholic
Jerry Verde, Marian Catholic
Larry Tucker, Marist
Bob Beckman, Notre Dame

Mike Hennessey, Notre Dame
Nan Airola, Providence
Patrick Duggan, St. Patrick
Jeff Berndt, St. Joseph
John Josten, St. Viator
Scott Zetek, St. Viator

Class of 2009
Sue Vodrazka, Benet
Kevin Kristan, Carmel Catholic
Don Heldmann, Fenwick
Bob Koleno, Holy Cross
Mike Goolsby, Joliet Catholic
Terrence Marable, Marian Catholic
Pat Quinn, Marist
Jack Cole, Notre Dame
Deryl Cunningham, St. Joseph
Dr. Joseph Schmidt, St. Patrick
Lynn Gaziano, St. Viator

Class of 2008
Joseph Fedinec, Benet
Jim Halford, Carmel
Dana Ballard, Fenwick
Emily Marino, Joliet Catholic
Kathryn Gleason, Marian Catholic
Al Brazen, Marist
Augie Genovesi, Notre Dame
Tony Reeder, St. Joseph
George Strnad, St. Joseph
Doug Reibel, St. Patrick
Mike Taylor, St. Viator

Class of 2007
Denise (Boylan) Egner, Benet
Scott Stahoviak, Carmel
Dr. James Quaid, Fenwick
Bob Stone, Joliet Catholic Academy
Mickey Griffin, Marian Catholic
Mark Gervais, Marist
Len Sitko, Notre Dame
Daryl Thomas, St. Joseph
Len Bertolini, St. Patrick
Mike Mroczek, St. Patrick
Bill Pirman, St. Viator
John Gillen, St. Viator

Class of 2006
(Inaugural Hall of Famers)
Ron Baumgartner, Benet (Pioneer, AD)
Joe Scordino, Carmel (Coach)
Jeff Zgonina, Carmel (Athlete)
Dave Power, Fenwick (Coach)
Mike Alstott, JCA (Athlete)
Gordie Gillespie, JCA (Coach)
Dave Mattio, Marian (Coach, AD)
Ray Balcarcel, Marist (Coach)
Bill Casey, Notre Dame (Coach, AD)
Jim Les, Notre Dame (Athlete)
Gene Pingatore, St. Joseph (Coach)
Isiah Thomas, St. Joseph (Athlete)
Max Kurland, St. Patrick (Coach)
Robert Artman, St. Viator (Administrator)
Jim Lyne, St. Viator (Coach)
Brother Richard Brady (Pioneer, ESCC)

Last Modified: February 19, 2016
Copyright © 2004 East Suburban Catholic Conference
No part of this publication may be reproduced, transmitted, transcribed, stored in any retrieval system, or translated in any form without the written permission of the East Suburban Catholic Conference.