Boys Basketball
Girls Basketball
Boys Cross Country
Girls Cross Country
Boys Golf
Girls Golf
Boys Soccer
Girls Soccer
Boys Tennis
Girls Tennis
Boys Track
Girls Track
Boys Volleyball
Girls Volleyball

Scholar Athletes
Hall of Fame

ESCC Hall of Fame

  The East Suburban Catholic Conference will honor its seventh Hall of Fame Class of eight on Thursday, March 8 at Crystal Sky Banquet Hall. The group includes some of the finest athletes, coaches and administrators in the state of Illinois since the ESCC began in 1974. Tickets priced at $50 are available through athletic departments at each member school. Doors open at 6 p.m. with dinner at 7 p.m.

    2010   2009   2007 Program/Cover (PDF)   2006 Program (PDF) 
Original Class


The Class of 2011...
2012 ESCC Hall of Fame

ESCC Hall of Fame to induct 12 on March 8

Highlighted by the third winningest baseball coach in IHSA history Don Kuehner from Marist and former Northwestern University standouts Jon Mikrut (baseball) of Carmel Catholic, Tim McGarigle (football) of Saint Patrick and Tim Phillips (track) of Saint Viator, the East Suburban Catholic Conference will induct its seventh Hall of Fame class on Thursday, March 8 at the Crystal Sky Banquet Hall in McCook, Ill.

Along with guiding Marist to the 1978 IHSA Class AA baseball title, Kuehner posted an 805-342 mark at Marist from 1963-99, making him the third winningest baseball coach in IHSA history. Kuehner’s Marist squad was also a state qualifier in 1988. After lettering in four sports and earning all-conference honors

in soccer, football and baseball, Mikrut starred at Northwestern and played in the St. Louis Cardinals minor league system. A former all-state and ESCC Defensive Player of the Year, McGarigle was all-Big 10 at Northwestern and set the NCAA all-time tackling record before the NFL’s St. Louis Rams drafted him in the seventh round. State track champion Phillips was a two-time All-Big 10 selection and earned Academic All-American honors with the Wildcats.

The induction class of 12 also includes former Notre Dame High School and Loyola Academy educator Ken Maziarka, who has served as the ESCC men’s basketball coordinator of officials for 28 years. Notre Dame four-sport standout Zach Bukal, a national track champion at North Central, also earned All-American recognition three times.

Multisport athletes highlight much of the 2012 class, which also includes Benet women’s basketball/volleyball standout Jordan Wilson, Marian Catholic football/basketball/baseball star Mike Gavin and Notre Dame four-sport letterman Bill Besenhofer. The inductees are rounded out by Marist second all-time basketball scorer Carl Cozen, longtime Benet tennis coach Jerry O’Connor and former Saint Patrick wrestling coach Niall Collins.

Ticket reservations ($50) for the 7 p.m. dinner on March 8 may be made through any of the ESCC school athletic departments and more information and history are also available on the ESCC web site at

The 2002 Marist men’s volleyball and 2002 Saint Viator women’s soccer state champions will be recognized at the March 8 event as well.The seventh ESCC Hall of Fame class brings the number of current inductees to 82, representing 10 of the current 12 member schools and former members Holy Cross and Saint Joseph.

More information about the ESCC Hall of Fame or induction dinner may be obtained by contacting Chair Mike Hennessey, Notre Dame High School Athletic Director, at 847-779-8652.


Previous Hall of Fame Classes

Class of 2011 (release)
Henry Wind, Benet Academy
Rod Whittier, Carmel Catholic
J.R. Zwierzynski, Joliet Catholic
Kerri Evans, Marian Catholic
Rodney Harrison, Marian Catholic
Paul Andreotti, Marist
Br. Richard Grenier, Marist
Jeff Dyra, Saint Patrick
Joe Majkowski, Saint Viator

Class of 2010
Kate Enoch, Benet
Dan Sharp, Joliet Catholic
Kevin Kelly, Marian Catholic
Jerry Verde, Marian Catholic
Larry Tucker, Marist
Bob Beckman, Notre Dame

Mike Hennessey, Notre Dame
Nan Airola, Providence
Patrick Duggan, St. Patrick
Jeff Berndt, St. Joseph
John Josten, St. Viator
Scott Zetek, St. Viator

Class of 2009
Sue Vodrazka, Benet
Kevin Kristan, Carmel Catholic
Don Heldmann, Fenwick
Bob Koleno, Holy Cross
Mike Goolsby, Joliet Catholic
Terrence Marable, Marian Catholic
Pat Quinn, Marist
Jack Cole, Notre Dame
Deryl Cunningham, St. Joseph
Dr. Joseph Schmidt, St. Patrick
Lynn Gaziano, St. Viator

Class of 2008
Joseph Fedinec, Benet
Jim Halford, Carmel
Dana Ballard, Fenwick
Emily Marino, Joliet Catholic
Kathryn Gleason, Marian Catholic
Al Brazen, Marist
Augie Genovesi, Notre Dame
Tony Reeder, St. Joseph
George Strnad, St. Joseph
Doug Reibel, St. Patrick
Mike Taylor, St. Viator

Class of 2007
Denise (Boylan) Egner, Benet
Scott Stahoviak, Carmel
Dr. James Quaid, Fenwick
Bob Stone, Joliet Catholic Academy
Mickey Griffin, Marian Catholic
Mark Gervais, Marist
Len Sitko, Notre Dame
Daryl Thomas, St. Joseph
Len Bertolini, St. Patrick
Mike Mroczek, St. Patrick
Bill Pirman, St. Viator
John Gillen, St. Viator

Class of 2006
(Inaugural Hall of Famers)
Ron Baumgartner, Benet (Pioneer, AD)
Joe Scordino, Carmel (Coach)
Jeff Zgonina, Carmel (Athlete)
Dave Power, Fenwick (Coach)
Mike Alstott, JCA (Athlete)
Gordie Gillespie, JCA (Coach)
Dave Mattio, Marian (Coach, AD)
Ray Balcarcel, Marist (Coach)
Bill Casey, Notre Dame (Coach, AD)
Jim Les, Notre Dame (Athlete)
Gene Pingatore, St. Joseph (Coach)
Isiah Thomas, St. Joseph (Athlete)
Max Kurland, St. Patrick (Coach)
Robert Artman, St. Viator (Administrator)
Jim Lyne, St. Viator (Coach)
Brother Richard Brady (Pioneer, ESCC)

Last Modified: May 21, 2012
Copyright © 2004 East Suburban Catholic Conference
No part of this publication may be reproduced, transmitted, transcribed, stored in any retrieval system, or translated in any form without the written permission of the East Suburban Catholic Conference.