Boys Basketball
Girls Basketball
Boys Cross Country
Girls Cross Country
Boys Golf
Girls Golf
Boys Lacrosse
Girls Lacrosse
Boys Soccer
Girls Soccer
Boys Tennis
Girls Tennis
Boys Track
Girls Track
Boys Volleyball
Girls Volleyball

Scholar Athletes
Hall of Fame

ESCC Hall of Fame

  The East Suburban Catholic Conference honored its ninth Hall of Fame Class of nine on Thursday, April 10 at Crystal Sky Banquet Hall. The group includes some of the finest athletes, coaches and administrators in the state of Illinois since the ESCC began in 1974. Tickets priced at $50 are available through athletic departments at each member school. Doors open at 6 p.m. with dinner at 7 p.m.

                                                     2012   2011    2010    2009  
     2007 Program/Cover (PDF)      2006 Program (PDF)     
Original Class


Class of 2014
Dan Nagis, Benet Academy
Peter Paul, Benet Academy
Jack Simmons, Carmel Catholic
Mark Venegone, Carmel Catholic
Adam Savick, Marian Catholic
Tony Evensen, Marist
Gary Kostrubala, Marist
Jack Halpin, Saint Viator
John Dacey, ESCC Assignment Chair

2014 Gallery of Induction

The Class of 2014...
2014 ESCC Hall of Fame

ESCC Hall of Fame to induct 9 on April 10

A trio of coaching legends will highlight an impressive group of nine to be inducted as the ninth Hall of Fame Class for the East Suburban Catholic Conference, which has its annual banquet scheduled for Thursday, April 10 at Crystal Sky Banquet Hall in McCook, Ill. Benet golf coach Dan Nagis, Redwing women’s basketball coach Peter Paul and Saint Viator golf coach Jack Halpin lead the sterling list of inductees that also includes four former IHSA state champions.

Nagis has spent 33 of his 44 years at Benet as head boys golf coach, leading the Redwings to nine ESCC titles and four trips to the IHSA state finals. As head girls basketball coach at Benet for 29 years (45 years overall), Paul has guided squads to five ESCC crowns, 18 IHSA regionals titles and four IHSA Sectional championships. Three consecutive IHSA titles (2007-09) highlight Halpin’s 16-year boys golf reign at Saint Viator, a career that has also produced eight ESCC titles, six regional and four sectional championships.

Marist will be represented by 1982 IHSA shot put and discus state champion Gary Kostrubala and 1983 138-pound IHSA wrestling state champion Tony Evensen. A pair of contributors to Carmel Catholic’s 2003 IHSA football state champion will be inducted, including eventual Big 10 athletes Jack Simmons and Mark Venegoni.

The 2014 class will be rounded out by former Marian Catholic basketball standout Adam Savick, who was a three-year all-conference selection at Illinois Institute of Technology, and John Dacey, longtime women’s basketball officials’ assignor for the ESCC.

Tickets reservations ($50) for the 7 p.m. dinner (6 p.m. reception) on April 10 may be made through any of the ESCC school athletic departments and more information and history are also available on the ESCC web site at

The 1994 Joliet Catholic Academy baseball state championship team, 2004 Joliet Catholic football state champions and 2004 Notre Dame baseball state champions will be recognized at the April 10 event as well.The ninth ESCC Hall of Fame class brings the number of current inductees to 95, representing 10 of the current 12 member schools and former members Holy Cross and Saint Joseph.

More information about the ESCC Hall of Fame or induction dinner may be obtained by contacting Chair Mike Hennessey, Notre Dame High School Athletic Director, at 847-779-8652.
Previous Hall of Fame Classes

Class of 2013 (release)
Gary Goforth, Benet Academy
Mark Yanule, Notre Dame
Dan Santucci, Saint Patrick
Jon Schaus, ESCC Assignment Chair

Class of 2012 (release)
Jerry O'Connor, Benet Academy
Jordan Wilson, Benet Academy
Jon Mikrut, Carmel Catholic
Mike Gavin, Marian Catholic
Carl Cozen, Marist
Don Kuehner, Marist
Bill Besenhofer, Notre Dame
Zach Bukal, Notre Dame
Niall Collins, Saint Patrick
Tim McGarigle, Saint Patrick
Tim Phillips, Saint Viator
Ken Maziarka, ESCC Assignment Chair

Class of 2011
Henry Wind, Benet Academy
Rod Whittier, Carmel Catholic
J.R. Zwierzynski, Joliet Catholic
Kerri Evans, Marian Catholic
Rodney Harrison, Marian Catholic
Paul Andreotti, Marist
Br. Richard Grenier, Marist
Jeff Dyra, Saint Patrick
Joe Majkowski, Saint Viator

Class of 2010
Kate Enoch, Benet
Dan Sharp, Joliet Catholic
Kevin Kelly, Marian Catholic
Jerry Verde, Marian Catholic
Larry Tucker, Marist
Bob Beckman, Notre Dame

Mike Hennessey, Notre Dame
Nan Airola, Providence
Patrick Duggan, St. Patrick
Jeff Berndt, St. Joseph
John Josten, St. Viator
Scott Zetek, St. Viator

Class of 2009
Sue Vodrazka, Benet
Kevin Kristan, Carmel Catholic
Don Heldmann, Fenwick
Bob Koleno, Holy Cross
Mike Goolsby, Joliet Catholic
Terrence Marable, Marian Catholic
Pat Quinn, Marist
Jack Cole, Notre Dame
Deryl Cunningham, St. Joseph
Dr. Joseph Schmidt, St. Patrick
Lynn Gaziano, St. Viator

Class of 2008
Joseph Fedinec, Benet
Jim Halford, Carmel
Dana Ballard, Fenwick
Emily Marino, Joliet Catholic
Kathryn Gleason, Marian Catholic
Al Brazen, Marist
Augie Genovesi, Notre Dame
Tony Reeder, St. Joseph
George Strnad, St. Joseph
Doug Reibel, St. Patrick
Mike Taylor, St. Viator

Class of 2007
Denise (Boylan) Egner, Benet
Scott Stahoviak, Carmel
Dr. James Quaid, Fenwick
Bob Stone, Joliet Catholic Academy
Mickey Griffin, Marian Catholic
Mark Gervais, Marist
Len Sitko, Notre Dame
Daryl Thomas, St. Joseph
Len Bertolini, St. Patrick
Mike Mroczek, St. Patrick
Bill Pirman, St. Viator
John Gillen, St. Viator

Class of 2006
(Inaugural Hall of Famers)
Ron Baumgartner, Benet (Pioneer, AD)
Joe Scordino, Carmel (Coach)
Jeff Zgonina, Carmel (Athlete)
Dave Power, Fenwick (Coach)
Mike Alstott, JCA (Athlete)
Gordie Gillespie, JCA (Coach)
Dave Mattio, Marian (Coach, AD)
Ray Balcarcel, Marist (Coach)
Bill Casey, Notre Dame (Coach, AD)
Jim Les, Notre Dame (Athlete)
Gene Pingatore, St. Joseph (Coach)
Isiah Thomas, St. Joseph (Athlete)
Max Kurland, St. Patrick (Coach)
Robert Artman, St. Viator (Administrator)
Jim Lyne, St. Viator (Coach)
Brother Richard Brady (Pioneer, ESCC)

Last Modified: March 12, 2015
Copyright © 2004 East Suburban Catholic Conference
No part of this publication may be reproduced, transmitted, transcribed, stored in any retrieval system, or translated in any form without the written permission of the East Suburban Catholic Conference.